Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Sunrise golf at Capitol Hill - Links

    October 20, 2020 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 57 °F

    Up before the sun again (I know! Who am I and what have I done with Caroline?! 😱) to play the Links course here at Capitol Hill. It was a gorgeous sunrise and great to get around in 3 1/2 hours and before it got “hot” (80 degrees).

    I wish that’s all I have to report about the golf, but Donny & I did not play our best (lost ball count: 9). The course felt just a smidge resort-y and gimmicky in some places (e.g. a par 4 with both rough areas and bunkers transecting the fairway 🤔, and several doglegs with narrow and blind corners, forcing approach shots to carry waste/water, usually to an elevated green).

    I did, however, find Links more interesting and challenging than Lakes and would play it again if only to see if I could find a lower score. The greens were in great shape, fairly fast and rolled true. The rough was impossible in places—I lost one ball in an attempt to hack out of it only to punch it maybe 3 feet forward but still unfindable. I might as well as hit it into a worm hole to other side of the universe. 🤦‍♀️

    We saw both black and fox squirrels (longest tails ever!), delicate whitetail deer, and a stunning white crane/heron. Still, even with the natural beauty, we weren’t sad to see this particular round finished.
    Read more