Satellite
Show on map
  • Downtown & The Falls

    June 11, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 73 °F

    I wanted to do something nearby today, so I rode into the downtown area where I had dinner last night and had brunch at the Waffle Hut, which was packed with locals (always a good sign). The area is right on the lake, and I walked to the park to check out what I rode by yesterday.

    There was an old steam locomotive on display and loads of water birds. Downtown also has lots of murals and street art. The library was having a sale, so I picked up a brand new paperback to read...for a dime 😱. I have them a dollar.

    Then I rode a couple of miles to a hilltop that looked like it would be a good place to view the falls. The overlook turned out to be an unfinished subdivision with a blocked road...but not a blocked sidewalk 😉. I rode to the top of the hill, then walked around to get some cool shots.

    Just across the river, where you're supposed to park and walk to see the falls 🤣, was a small park looking at Pelican Marina. A very appropriate name considering all the pelicans in the area.

    I was back to the campground by 14:00, read all of my book (The Warded Man by Peter V. Brett), and DoorDashed the same meal I had last night. Now, I'm in the tent ready to crash. Great day.

    So long [for now], and thanks for all the fish! ✌️

    Day 92 mileage: 11.6 🤣 (total 21260.1)
    HD Dealerships: 0 (total 195)
    National Parks: 0 (total 39 in 19 states)
    10 Rides for 2022: 0 (total 5 of 10)
    MCGTTX Stops: 0 (total 23 of 50)
    Read more