Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 18

    The Little Pilgrim that Could… Day 14

    April 21 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 24 °C

    Exactly 2 weeks on the Camino today.

    Feels so much longer than that. And I’m back to the longer distances, just. 18km seems to be my limit before getting pain/blisters etc.

    So I’m trying to keep to that.

    I woke up early. And as planned knowing it was a min 4 hour work my plan was to be out by 8am with the hope of getting to Redondela at least by early afternoon.

    I slept well (ish). Which I think is standard when in a dorm.

    And I set off alone. Even though I knew Victoria was heading to the same albergue.

    I was a little weary and had apprehension when starting. I was too in my head about what could go on after now realising only 2 people I’ve walked with on the Camino have actually made it to Santiago.

    I guess I feel like I’m waiting for my turn. What will it be? And will it happen while I’m walking?

    It was quiet on the city roads while I started, but after a while Pilgrims just seemed to join from all roads, assuming leaving their own albergues.

    But there were so many. Not once today was there not a pilgrim in front or behind me. In fact I felt like I was on one huge perpetual school trip.

    I understand now what people mean, when you get down to the last 100km - the distance needed to gain the Compostela - and how busy it actually gets.

    Despite missing the peace of the Camino, their presence was welcomed and I began feeling more relaxed. The trepidation didn’t dissipate though, and I just had to use the mantra ‘trust the Camino’ over and over again.

    A fight with my mind was very much ongoing today.

    But then also with my body. There were hills today. And I just kept taking steps. I was tempted with cafes etc but I wanted to head down and get as far in as possible while it was both cool and I had motivation.

    I even over took with pace.

    But then much much older where overtaking me, maybe they started in Tui though - least that’s what I’m telling myself.

    I walked again alone for all of it. My mind desperately wanted distraction. And kept feeling for the phone to see distance left, or re making plans for the days ahead.

    The joy has departed somewhat. And now it’s just mentally and physical draining. 5-6 days left if I take central and that feels like a month!

    There was kindness and lil moments of joy though.

    A man selling Camino wears up on the heights, stamped my credential, but also helped me put my rucksack back on. Despite me not buying anything he clearly just wanted to help.

    A quick stop to buy a bottle of water, led to a piece of a frittata omelette. And it was the best prince I’d ever eaten - whether it was the recipes or the calories needed - it was good!

    A cute picture stop. Thanks to other pilgrims who are more than happy to take a picture, noting I’m alone.

    A pistachio brunch, pancakes was found. After I stopped at the first place in Redondela, and then a bunch of school kids sat down. I thought it best I move on to get served and so glad I did! Coffee, natural orange juice and pancakes!!! Amazing!!!

    A pilgrim vending machine!

    A lil old man was playing music out of his apartment on the streets, and so I danced, and he laughed and danced too and wished me an Buen Camino!

    A lil old church was found with a wonderful stamp!

    And this private hostel is simply beautiful. Rustic with so much charm. And I’ve had some lovely lil conversations with guests here.

    Didn’t go to the local bar for food. Opted for food from here, but I didn’t really trust it so didn’t eat much of it. But did collect protein bars for tomorrow.

    So in all, I did a hard thing.

    On my own I battled my nerves and carried on with the thing. And also my legs that wanted to give up at least 7 times.

    What will tomorrow bring? And that’s the beauty of the Camino, something completely new. People, places and experiences.
    Read more