Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Last night in Kyoto

    December 10, 2022 in Japan ⋅ 🌙 12 °C

    I wandered down the road and got a coffee at Starbucks which led me to a small temple in the middle of the city which seemed attached.
    After that I popped back into nishiki markets for a little bite to eat, getting some battered fish and eel this time. Saw what I think we're either intestines or brain being served up, had a very sticky looking texture to it. Found out later it was called Cod Milt which is the sperm sacks. Hmmm, I was offered some at a bar but have yet to commit to it.
    I continued to walk through the shopping complex at the end of Nishiki but nothing really caught my eye. Have been finding it really hard to collect souvenirs but that may come later in the trip.
    I caught the bus back to the hotel to do washing, pack and have an onsen. Ran into a guy from Spain while doing washing and then again in the onsen. Talked to him for a while (while naked which was weird at first but again get used to it) and he was in a similar situation as me. Similar age and occupation and had split with his partner of 5 years a month ago but was currently still on holiday with her. I worry about talking to people in the bathroom as my friends have advised me against it since I got asked for my number one night but I find it more awkward to stand in silence.
    Read more