Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 22

    Izumo

    December 20, 2022 in Japan ⋅ ⛅ 6 °C

    I arrived in Izumo as this is where my night train would be leaving from, to get back to Tokyo. I had 4 hours or so, so I put my gear in a locker and jumped on the first bus I saw without knowing where it would take me.
    I had a thought last night about planning vs impulse due to heading to that island and not expecting deer. Where it got me to was, when I plan I get my hopes up and often get more excited for something than it deserves thus inevitably letting me down. When I just do something random it may not be the best but it's always a surprise and that's the best bit.
    It dropped me off in a temple so I headed that way and called mum and dad on the way. It was a nice park to walk through and the air was cool and crisp, as I had not walked much today I decided to walk down to the beach.
    As the sun was setting it was a very nice and calm place, it seemed quite a small town with very few tourists or cars.
    I only had a few hours so I grabbed some Starbucks sandwich for the train and headed back to the train station. When I got back I could not find anywhere with power or wifi to spend the hour I had remaining so I went to mos burger and got dinner for later.
    Back at the station again and there were some missionaries playing Christmas carols on the piano. They were from America and 18-21. They were here for a couple of months just spreading the word so it seems, it was nice to hear them play though.
    Read more