Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 29

    Off to Joetsumyoko

    December 27, 2022 in Japan ⋅ ⛅ 3 °C

    I got up, had breakfast and headed for the train station. Google suggested I take a bus to Shinbashi, train to Ueno then a bullet from there. When I got to Ueno the bullet train was full though so I needed to wait around 2 hours. I talked to a French girl who was a student there while I was waiting for the train, I tried to plan the weeks ahead but failed to make any progress on that.
    Got myself a niku Bento Box for the train which was pretty decent.
    The train ride up itself was nice, I was sitting in cattle class this time but still had plenty of leg room.
    I arrived a little early for the hotel so dumped my stuff there and was about to jump on the train but it cost so I went for a walk up the road, didn't see a single other person walking around but lots of cars were driving. I don't think there is much in the area but that just means I need to travel more to find things.
    I walked back and checked into the hotel but asked them to change the 7days I had booked down to 3 nights. I still don't know where I'm going but know I need to keep moving.
    I caught up on washing and had myself an onsen as it had been a few days and really relaxed into it while I was awaiting the laundry.
    I then headed out for a dinner and wandered through the local places the tv had suggested to me and found a place which had a few people in it. I got myself a pork catsu but she asked if I wanted anything else and so I ordered a chicken karage but really think I ordered too much. The port katsu was amazing, moist and delicious and the sake was filled to the brim for $5 and went down very well.
    I ended the night by opening the Jägermeister cold brew and having a few night caps.
    Got up and had a great Japanese breakfast at the hotel, it was half smorgasbord and half served which is fine by me as it forced me to try different things. The onsen cold egg was probably the best part, it was soft-boiled but cold still and great over rice. I left the salmon as I think it was with cod milt as some very sticky substance covered it, but I ate the rest.
    Read more