Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 32

    Kusatsu

    December 30, 2022 in Japan ⋅ ⛅ -2 °C

    While wandering through kusatsu I mostly just picked a direction and walked to see where I could end up. The first thing which took my attention was the temple on the hill so I headed up that way. It was flurries at the time which made it feel quite magical. I got myself a little custard man and used one of the hot foot baths, the whole place reminded me a lot of Rotorua with the sulphur smell.
    I went to see a show which demonstrated how they cooled down the water without dilution traditionally, there was a story about how many famous people have come to this town and many emperors obtained the water from here for their private baths to relieve ailments.
    The central part of town itself had a European influence to it and there were lots of nice smelling restaurants as I walked past but as my meals were being provided by the hotel I didn't get to try any of them.
    In the morning I decided to walk down the hill and came across the onsen I missed going to, I was tempted but at that point had done 5 onsens in the last 24 hours anyway so I really didn't need it.
    I got myself some negima Yakitori and garlic, was a little hard with translation with him but I at least had a little bite to eat.
    Read more