Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 33

    Kusatsu Tropical Wonderland

    December 31, 2022 in Japan ⋅ ⛅ 0 °C

    I was wandering through Kusatsu talking to Mum and Dad when he said I was close to somewhere which had Capybaras and said I should visit so I popped in for a look. They had a fair lot of animals, started with the bugs and hand cleaning fish, then headed down to a dome structure which had the rest of the animals. The home itself looked very dirty and rusting to the point it might break but maybe that was the dilapidated tropical look???
    I walked down and watched the monkeys for a little bit but these ones were not as calm as the snow monkey forest ones.
    When you first walked in there were crocodiles and alligators in tiny pens so they didn't move much. The owls were cute and the tarantula was hanging out in the middle section with a whole bunch of lizards and frogs. Then there were lots of snakes with money that had been left behind by people, I assume it was a good luck thing but found it interesting that no-one stole the money as it was just sitting there.
    I fed the Capybaras, there were probably 10 of them and one had got into the rabbit pen and was stealing their food. A sloth was in the corner just sleeping under the heat lamp.
    As I walked around the corner there were some monkeys who were very cute and interested in the humans. I stayed with the pigmy marmosets for a while as they made a really nice bird chirping call.
    I saw the bat hanging out and he tried to bite me through the cage.
    They then had some baby chickens, hamsters and micro pigs you could play with. The micro pigs were very skittish though.
    I went outside and said hello to the Lama who seemed unbothered by the snow.
    Read more