Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 34

    Heading north

    January 1, 2023 in Japan ⋅ ⛅ 3 °C

    I jumped on a train heading north without a real destination in mind or a place booked tonight but I was keen to head to somewhere I hadn't been so north...
    I clocked this bullet train at 318 but I'm sure it was going faster in the tunnels I just couldn't get a GPS signal. This definitely felt the fastest to me so far.
    I got to Sendai quite quickly and from the train it looked pretty calm and there wasn't any snow so I figured I would continue on.
    Soon after Sendai we went through a tunnel and on the other side everything was blanketed in snow, this got me excited so I figured I would continue on and see where this takes me.
    Morioka came up really quick and they announced that half the train continues north with the other half going to Akita, I hadn't been on one of the split trains yet but I'm pretty sure I was in the right half.
    This town looked quite interesting and considered staying here but continued on.
    After seeing the snow and having my Bento Box I felt spurred on to go all the way to Hokkaido. I booked myself a room in Hakodate that looked decent enough and then that allows me to continue onto Sapporo tomorrow.
    I had got to the top of mainland Japan in 3.5 hours and traveled 800km with stops, it was crazy to think how quick that is, it was about the same distance as Whangarei to Wellington or Gold Coast to Sydney.
    I was hoping I could get some pictures with the crossing to Hokkaido but was worried as the sun was setting. I didn't realise it was a tunnel so that solved that problem.
    Read more