Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 43

    Underground flood system

    January 10, 2023 in Japan ⋅ ⛅ 8 °C

    I had a booking for 10am which I originally thought I would have no problem making but I realised that it was quite a way out of Tokyo and would take 2 hours by train to get there. I then got my hotel to call them up and ask if I can come along to an afternoon viewing instead which they were able to arrange for me.
    I was also quite tired and a little hungover so glad I was able to take today a little slower.
    My train out has 23 stops across 3 different lines and then a 30 minute walk as the buses weren't running.
    I found a ramen shop at the train station which I figured I had to give a go, it was pretty decent but the novelty was the main part.
    The walk was through a suburban area with little farming plots and not many people around, it was strange to think that this was still considered Tokyo.
    I got there and checked in for the tour, it was all in Japanese but I was able to understand some parts of what she said.
    We walked down the staircase under the soccer field and was in the underground flood tank area.
    It was quite large with an echo but also a very peaceful place to be. I kept thinking how great it would be if I had my rollerskates on but doubt they would have allowed that.
    Read more