Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    Day 9: Los Arcos a Logroño

    April 10 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 59 °F

    Despite a terrible mattress, I managed to sleep pretty well last night. Guess my body and mind are getting used to sleeping in a different place with a room full of strangers! Overall though, it was the worst albergue thus far- poor mattresses and not very clean. Didn’t see any bedbugs though, so maybe that’s a plus?

    Today was pretty tough. It started with a sore lower back back/hip area and I quickly developed a tight calf. I ended up walking most of the day with a couple of older ladies from New Zealand. I enjoyed talking with them over the course of a few hours. Another peregrino (Bob from Tulsa- he calls me Kansas) texted periodically to check how I was doing with the muscle aches today. Also ran into a couple of retired doctors from the US, which was a short but encouraging encounter. They said that they’ll be praying for me as I’m on this career and physical journey. I’m grateful for the Camino interactions today.

    Nearing Logroño, I walked by a Camino store. Ended up going inside and buying a new pie of shoes because the insoles only improved things for a day or two. Already, my feet feel happier, though after walking 17 miles, they’re still protesting a bit! I’ve decided to take another rest day tomorrow here and allow my legs some time to recover. It’s crazy, but I’m 20% done!
    Read more