Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 27–30

    Burgos

    April 16 in Spain ⋅ 🌬 55 °F

    The morning of April 15, I took the bus to Burgos. Apparently the hotel I booked was pretty nice and right next to the Burgos St Mary’s Cathedral. It’s beautiful, though as a Protestant I admit that much of the interior ornamentation is lost on me.

    While on the bus, I was thinking that maybe it was time for my Camino to be done. Initially I felt peaceful about it, as it wasn’t turning out to be what I was looking for. But with time for prayer and thinking, as well as talking with my mom, I realized that I wasn’t ready to be finished. One of my goals has been to slow down, to take life at a more moderate pace rather than having the whiplash of going 0-100 then back to zero because I crash. So I stayed in Burgos another day to allow time to relax and walk the city (which is one of my favorite ways of seeing a new place), get some logistical things done (sending bags on, planning the next stages, looking at buses, etc).

    Food in Burgos hasn’t been easy, though I have found a couple restaurants that do pizza for celiac. The one a couple days ago was delicious! Waiting on one from a different place- tbd.

    As I was walking to lunch, I heard church bells ringing. I walked in, as I hadn’t seen this church yet, and quickly realized that a mass was about to start (service? Not sure if it was a mass or if there’s a difference). So I decided to stay. I’ve only attended one mass ever, when I was in high school in Mexico. While I understood much more of the words this time, about half was lost on me. The sermon text was from Acts where the church was scattered because of persecution. It was a reminder (again) that even in the hard things, where we don’t understand why things are hard or why we’re suffering, God is working. He used the apostles suffering to spread the Good News. I pray that the Lord continue to teach me about his providence and purposes.

    Also, I have the best parents. Apparently Riggs found a couple of SOS pads and thought they looked like a great snack, so he ate them! Dad took him to the vet, but they couldn’t get him to bring them back up, so they went to the emergency vet in KC, who took them out. Pup was supposed to go for a much needed haircut today, but instead is staying home to recover 🤦‍♀️ So thankful for my parents willingness to take care of my crazy and needy dog!
    Read more