Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 25

    Days ??? Logroño-Navarrete-Azofra-Santo

    April 14 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 81 °F

    The last several days are a bit of a blur. The preplanned next leg was to walk Logroño to Nájera, which is almost 18 miles. I just didn’t feel up to walking that far again, so I did what I thought would be an easy 8 miles. It felt like it lasted forever! In retrospect, I don’t think I gave the distance the credit it deserved- 8 miles isn’t nothing!

    Upon entering Navarrete, I ran into some Camino friends. We had a nice time sitting on the terrace and relaxing. Talking with one of them made me consider more what I want this Camino to look like- why am I here, what do I want to get out of it? It’s hard to think much while walking because I’m constantly paying attention to details- am I developing any hot spots on my feet? Did I miss a sign for the path? How much further should I go before I take break? What am I going to eat and where am I going to sleep tonight? Plus the frequent self talk of “you can do this!” In speaking with her, I’m realizing that it’s less important for me to walk every step of this path and more important for me to have that time to think and pray. I’m learning that my ideal distance is 8-13 miles in a day, so I think I’ll be cutting a fair amount of the Camino out along the way.

    I’m more than 25% done with the Camino and have walked more than 100 miles so far. Tonight I’m staying in a hostal with a couple of Camino friends- we have comfy beds and our own bathroom! I walked 10 miles this morning in about 3.5 hours- I’m not a fast walker by Camino standards, but I never thought I’d be thinking of 10 miles as an “easy” walk.
    Read more