Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    The Nag's Head and Colston Bassett

    August 28, 2016 in England ⋅ ⛅ 16 °C

    Surprising how differently the bike handles when loaded down with all the things I thought I needed for this trip! 16 careful miles through the English countryside, getting a sense of what lies before me. We'll see how exhausted I am after 50 miles tomorrow..

    I'm staying at an inn near the Colston Bassett Dairy, key point on my cheese pilgrimage. I'm going to say hi and thanks to the cows tomorrow. The inn has horses, so of course I'm thinking about you Sharon Holland!

    I guess the stereotypes of the English countryside come from somewhere - I kept expecting to see Mr. Frog racing his motor-car down the road, much to the chagrin of Toad. Fortunately, the drivers have been very nice and the National Cycle Routes are not too much traffic. The innkeepers sent me down the road to the local pub for dinner.

    Pictures will have to wait, my phone's camera is still freaking out. Selfies work, however, so I'll send one of me about to have dinner at the Nag's Head.
    Read more