Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Train on a ferry

    September 6, 2017 in Germany ⋅ 🌧 17 °C

    Had breakfast at the hostel with my German friends heading for Sweden.
    Got on a train that itself got on a ferry. Still have no idea how it did that.
    Chatted with a lovely German lady on the train who wanted to practice her English.

    The German guy checking me in saw I was from Bristol and said Rovers or City. 20 minutes later we were still talking and a queue had developed behind me. Strangely he supports Berwick Rangers (the only English team to play in the Scottish leagues).

    Jumped on a couple of the commuter ferries to get a cheap tour of Hamburg from the harbour, only once I had spent 30 minutes figuring out how to use the metro to get there.

    Having a beer and some currywurst and resting my legs ready for another walking tour tomorrow.
    Read more