Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Willkommen in München

    September 12, 2017 in Germany ⋅ 🌧 12 °C

    So after a bus from Prague to Nuremberg and a delayed train (1hr) from there to Munich (I thought the Germans were efficient) I arrived at my accommodation.. The Tent, Munich. Yes it really is a tent. It's like a massive gazebo with about 200 beds in it. It's fully booked out for Oktoberfest which starts this Saturday. They only heat it over Oktoberfest though... last night was cold - I slept fully clothed.

    Apparently in leaving the door open to the tent it makes it warmer.. my arse. At reception they give you 4 blankets at check in but I got a further two because it was so Baltic.
    Anyway, I survived the first night and went to explore Munich by foot. I met a Scottish chap on the walking tour and after having seen all the sights, we took refuge from the rain in the Hoffbrauhaus, Munich. It was packed at 1pm.
    We had a couple of 1L steins and chatted with the locals, and a band from Argentina on a European tour. Rolling Stones are in town, along with Anderlecht fans.

    I managed to get tickets for Bayern Munich v Anderlecht in the Champions League, which finished 3-0. An early red for the Belgians meant the game was never in doubt. I was adopted by a group of Bayern fans in the Munich markets after they discovered I supported a lowly English football team. They took me for dinner and then got me to the stadium before insisting they paid for my metro trip home. Lovely blokes.

    Incredible stadium the Allianz Arena. Dead impressed.
    My last full day in Munich included heading to the Eisbach which is a natural wave that lasts all year round that locals surf. Really cool. Finished by watching the Champions League games in an Irish Pub.
    Salzburg tomorrow by coach. Vienna on the weekend
    Read more