Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 63

    Tioman Island

    August 15, 2018 in Malaysia ⋅ 🌬 28 °C

    After being constantly on the move for 1 1/2 months straight we decided to treat ourselves with some days of beach vacation. For this purpose Tioman Island is ideally located between Kuala Lumpur and Singapore.
    We were really excited about a few days of relaxing under the sun, swimming in the sea and drinking beer.
    This plan went great until the second day when I started to get a really bad headache and fever. I was also pretty weak, so there was not much I could do
    ... Not like I had planned to anyways 😉 Julia went a bit snorkeling directly offshore while I spent most of the day in the hammock. After three days I was in a condition good enough to go for a day trip snorkeling to a few places which was really nice. Especially Renggis Island offers a beautiful underwater scenery.
    Overall we liked Tioman Island for its laid back setting and calmth. What we didn't like that much was that it's quite expensive compared to other destinations in the area. And we weren't big fans of the beach itself, there were just too many rocks in medium to low tide to go enjoyably for a swim.
    Unfortunately I couldn't go diving because of the flu I had caught. But this is also said to be one of the highlights.
    Read more