Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Drive to Amiens

    September 9, 2019 in France ⋅ ☁️ 14 °C

    Got up got organised and caught an Uber to the Renault car pick-up centre. Morning traffic in central Paris is a disaster but we got there (roughly) on time. Car was ready and it only took about 5 minutes and we were ready to go. It’s brand new (I get to put the first dent/scratch on it, but won’t feel too bad as every car in Paris has at least 4 - one for each side). Orientation consisted of pointing out the fuel cap - I don’t think he had much faith in me as I hopped in the passenger seat as we went to head-off. Man it takes some getting used to driving a manual sitting on the left of the car, changing gears with your right hand, trying to remember to stay on the right side whilst negotiating peak-hour Paris traffic (which seems to last all day ☹️). First intersection that I had to turn at I put the wipers on instead of the blinker, and when trying to change from first to second, my left hand could find a gear stick so it just put the window down - we had only gone about 200 metres so this should be fun🤭. Anne said I “kangaroo-hopped” the car but she was totally wrong as I actually stalled it twice when I couldn’t find the gear lever). Anne was wondering if Renault had ever had an insurance claim within 3 minutes of a car being picked up. Streets incredibly narrow, and incredibly busy with cars just parking pretty much anywhere you shouldn’t. Sometimes the space between oncoming traffic on your left, and parked cars on your right is just a bit smaller than the car your driving - physics says it’s impossible, but you fit without hitting anything (or at least just keep driving without looking back). We finally got out of Paris (and though I tried hard not to, ended up on a toll road). We got to Amiens in time for a walk around. France likes its churches so Amiens has its own “Notre Dame”. More tomorrow.....,Read more