Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Calais to London

    September 12, 2019 in England ⋅ ⛅ 20 °C

    Up reasonably early, breakfast then off to the Ferry terminal to board a P&O car ferry. Boarding was easier than I thought - through French border control for a an outbound passport stamp, collect a boarding card, then through UK immigration and a very quick check of the car that took about 30 seconds (open the boot, make sure no stowaways in the spare- tire compartment) and that was it. Got lost on the drive to the boarding area (cars line up in lanes ready to drive in). It’s a big dock and easy to get lost especially if you don’t follow the arrows, we had a couple of cars behind (us as we went around in a big circle). Finally we found the marshalling area. I went for a walk and when I came back to the car I had a walk around to see if there were any scuff marks and tapped on the passenger window to talk to Anne. When the window wound down a strangers face was looking at me - I was at the wrong car!!!. I could hear the lady laughing at me as I walked away. Funny thing was that she then went for a walk, and when she got back she went to get into our car 😛 - I got to laugh at her 😁. The Ferry is huge (9 levels I think) with cafes, duty free shops, bars and pokies (for a minute I thought I was back in a Qld RSL) - all for a 90 minute crossing. The white cliffs of Dover are quite a sight just before docking. It was good to be back driving on the left side of the road (if slightly awkward sitting on the left side of the car). We made it to our (again little) apartment (we’re actually on the outskirts of London in East Croydon, but it’s only a 15 minute train ride into the CBD). Tomorrow (hopefully a lucky Friday the 13th) we’ll organise oyster travel cards and head into the city....Read more