Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 18

    Liverpool to Edinburgh

    September 19, 2019 in Scotland ⋅ ⛅ 15 °C

    Up, breakfast (there did it again) then headed off to Edinburgh. We were stopped at a set of traffic lights, in the centre lane (of 3), with a blinker flashing to go left but very undecided 🤷‍♂️. A work van pulled up besides us and a man wound down his window and asked if I wanted to turn left in front of him. I said I would probably make up my mind when the light went green as I was “sorta” lost. He had a laugh then asked where we were trying to get to. When we said Edinburgh he gave us a rough idea (go straight ahead and good luck) but was amazed we intended to drive 245 miles in one day!!!!! We stopped at Penrith (Cumbria) for lunch (at a church cafe) and a walk around - a beautiful typical English town. We took a scenic 80 km drive before getting to Edinburgh. Wow, this country-side is beautiful, green fields, sheep, cattle and lots of baled hay. Makes you feel all the more for the drought ravaged farms back home. Got to the Airbnb we booked for 4 nights - first impression (before getting inside) was ohh 😲. The door to the building was between two shops and graffitied. The apartment is on top at the fourth floor with 85 steps and no lift!!!. I had to carry my and Anne’s bag up (had to walk up 2 times - Anne’s is over 30 kg ☹️). I had to have a rest between floors. The outside might be ordinary, but the apartment itself is fantastic. Central heating, Really great kitchen, comfortable lounge, good bathroom (with probably the most complicated shower tap I’ve ever seen), comfortable bedroom and fantastic views (sunset over other houses/buildings was just glorious). Looking forward to the walking tour of Edinburgh we have booked for tomorrow.Read more