Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 56

    Budapest - last day

    October 27, 2019 in Hungary ⋅ ☀️ 19 °C

    Last full day in Budapest and my last chance to convince Anne how beautiful this city is.

    After breakfast (and Anne’s obligatory coffee) we were off to the other side of the river - the Buda side of the city. There’s an island in the river (Margit) that you can walk to (using a bridge obviously - I’m not Moses) Dropped in and a saw a beautiful fountain that went in time to music (Beatles, Rolling Stones etc.). You probably had to be there to appreciate it😛. The Buda side has what I guess you could call the “old town. Cobbled streets, stairways and lots of churches. The views from the river are magnificent- see the pics.

    Heaps of cafes and restaurants so we stopped for lunch. Anne has a risotto and I ordered chicken dumplings - something got lost in the translation (literally) I got 🐓 but it certainly wasn’t dumplings. In any case it was very good!!!!!!

    I’m not sure Anne thinks this city is as good as I do - but she is impressed none the less.

    Tomorrow we try to get out of the underground car park and drive to Nagykanizsa - still in Hungry.
    Read more