Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 77

    Rome Day 4

    November 17, 2019 in Italy ⋅ 🌧 13 °C

    Another wet day as we headed off at 10.30 - we’re getting later and later. Again into Rome central (we’re staying close to the Vatican so it’s a pretty short trip by metro that is only about a 10/15 minute walk for us). Went to Piazza Navona and down into the museum. We made our way towards the river then onto the Vatican - we’re actually going into the Vatican and the Sistine Chapel tomorrow.

    We had a look at a couple of other churches and I warned Carl that going through churches, basilicas and cathedrals, Every Single Day, would become a very common theme for him. I think he finally worked out that this was a cost-effective way of looking at “old” stuff. He will be quite religious by the time he gets home.

    Headed home (in the rain) via McDonalds. According to Carl (he apparently heard it on the news - who knew he could speak fluent Italian🤷‍♂️) the strike was over☹️.

    I think we have walked well over 650 kms to date and my shoes are falling apart - used one of Anne’s hair-ties to hold the sole on, it’s working but Anne’s hair looks a mess!!!!!

    When we got back I went out and got a hair cut and a shave - with a cutthroat razor - smooth😂. The barber told me not to move as the razor is very very sharp - I moved and he was very very right.

    The barber also asked if I wanted my ears done? - hmmm, okay. Damn it hurt. You have probably seen women get there eyebrows plucked by threading. Well he did that to my ears and it hurt 😢 a lot. Note to self - next time make sure you understand the question🤓.

    Out for an Italian dinner - somehow have to get rid of the McDonalds taste.
    Read more