Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Cancun

    January 3, 2017 in Mexico ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    Two hour wait after landing for my pre booked shuttle and most of that was standing in the heat outside in a tiny space! Chaotic! One poor girl fainted.
    Anyway after checking into my next budget hotel (another great hotel with killer air conditioning) just on the outskirts of the central district set off for some dinner - 5 hour flight left LA 9.30am and arrived 5.30pm so by now its dark and I am exhausted. Not much close by so hotel staff tell me the biggest mall in Cancun is a 10 minute walk.

    I set off. First mistake - I should have gone to bed and had chocolate for dinner. The heat! After 5 minutes I was dripping!
    Next I am basically walking down a freeway! There was a path but then it would turn into large grassed areas with rocks which I had to climb over! They didn't tell me I needed treking shoes and poles!

    Next I am walking next to bushes where I hear noises so I walk close to the road - then I see a man with plastic bags walk into the bushes. I walk faster.

    Then I see it - superama by Walmart! Don't judge me people I had to eat quickly and get back to the hotel! And the Mall was nowhere in sight and I had been walking 20 minutes. 10 minutes! Maybe if you are an olympian walker!
    So on a full stomach of the worst pizza I bolted back!

    And that was my day 2!
    Read more