Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 52

    Tips for travelling in Central America

    February 23, 2017 in Guatemala ⋅ ⛅ 21 °C

    1 Your shoes and feet will go through hell so take decent hiking shoes (with ankle support if you need it - I do) even if you are not doing lots of hiking. Also take decent wicking socks. A step further is to consider silk sock liners to help prevent blisters

    2 A proper hiking stick or sticks would be useful if you have room

    3 Take some surf shoes - great for rocky beaches and protecting your feet in unknown waters. Also good for caves

    4 And still on shoes you need proper walking sandals that are designed to get wet and dry quickly. Ugly yes but worth it. You could use these as surf shoes as well. Keens and chacos get good reviews

    5 The humidity, salt water and heat is hard on your hair so take a really good conditioner

    6 Use mosquito repellent with picaridin or DEET. I prefer picaridin because its non greasy and odorless

    7 Try and use bio degradable sunscreen so you don't harm the coral and sealife

    8 Don't bother to take makeup - the humidity will kill it in 5 minutes!

    9 A powder with corn starch will be your best friend. Slather it everywhere!

    10 In some places it will be so hot and humid that only a dress will keep you sane. Men you will have to suffer!

    11 A water proof bag for your stuff on day trip boat rides can be handy

    12 Take some US dollars. They are accepted everywhere and are handy when the atms don't work. Get lots of $1 for tips

    13 Take a surge protector so that electricity surges don't fry your electronics or, charge your power bank and use that to charge your electonics

    13A Take a power bank to charge your camera, tablet or phone on those long days

    14 Wi fi is everywhere but use a VPN to protect your personal data. I used Hidemyass (yes terrible name!) for the two months I was travelling. Nordvpn seems to get good reviews

    15 Back up your mobile photos in a cloud

    16 Carry all your travel documents on a usb and/or email them to yourself. But keep a hard copy of your travel insurance and your flights on you. Some countries will insist on proof of exit. I also scan or take photos of some of my travel documents

    17 Keep your passport number as a contact on your phone and/or take a photo of it

    17 Never ever travel without travel insurance

    18 When doing alot of short stays I swear by packing cubes and lightweight travel bags (I like the sea summit ones). That way everything is organised and its faster packing. The trick is to put all the cubes/bags in the same spot so packing is quick

    19 I love clothes that wick and dry quickly for travelling. I have t shirts and trousers and they are fantastic. They don't need as much washing and dry quickly. They are also good in both hot and cooler conditions. Try and take some lighter colours for the heat and keeping mosquitos at bay. I of course had all black! On the way back I bought a hideous beige travelling shirt which I will use next time! Its looks like a safari shirt! Yuk! Not sure why travelling clothes have to be so ugly

    20 Take a quick drying travel towel for the beach

    21 Rashies are great for keeping the sun at bay for those all day boat trips and snorkeling days. I also worn lycra like exercise shorts for extra protection

    22 A quick drying cover up is great for those days you are spending in your swimming costume - helps with the sun protection but will be cool

    23 Take some sort of medical kit - for this sort of trip I like to take good quality bandaids for blisters (I like the Compeed ones), to try and prevent the blisters and sore spots moleskin is handy, panadol, tablets for flu/colds, betadine for sore throats (I never travel without this now after not being able to get anything in Canada or the States that was anywhere near as good). Also they have a tiny bottle that you mix with water which is perfect for travelling), some sort of cream for bites/rashes (one with hydrocortisone is good), dencorub or similar for sore muscles (I used this alot!), antihistamines, malaria tablets, tiny bottle/tube antiseptic, remedy rescue, something for diarrhea and nausea when you have to travel, saline nose spray, lip balm (vaseline is my favorite), tooth brush/paste or small mouthwash and moisturiser for the plane, if I can't sleep I sometimes take Doxy, and some all purpose antibiotics. Some people on the tour swore by oral lomotil for an upset stomach and diarrhea. In Mexico chemists and stores like Walmart have whole aisles of medication for stomach issues and diarrhea! I used everything in my kit aside from the nausea/diarrhea medications

    22 I like to have a set of clothes that I only wear inside that I also use as pjs. Preferably long sleeved for mosquito protection

    23 A lightweight hat is a must. I like the cheap daggy ones you can get from target

    24 Inexpensive sunglasses. On my last two trips I lost mine! Also get ones that are large or wrap around abit for sun protection

    25 Eyemask and eye plugs for the plane and noisy hotel rooms. Also good for travel days. Another handy item is a neck pillow which you will also use on the plane and on those long overland travel days

    26 Goes without saying you must have some sort of day pack

    27 I took a slash proof small handbag as well

    28 Lightweight slip on shoes for the plane - your surf shoes will do. Put these on when you go to the toilet to protect your socks! I love Fitkicks - light and super slim and you can use them as surf shoes

    29 Flight socks are a must to aid against clotting. I also take a blow up cushion to rest my feet on as I'm short and it adds comfort. Also I can use it for exercising my feet by pushing my heels and toes up and down - another anti clotting aid

    30 A lightweight rain jacket or poncho. Naturally I took both!

    31 A universal plug for hand washing in sinks. No hotel had plugs

    32 The cheese can be dodgy - I stopped eating it after too many dishes were spolit by the cheese!

    Happy travelling!
    Read more