Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 52

    Home to Sydney

    February 23, 2017 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 28 °C

    Already thinking of my next trip! Maybe Cuba?
    Or Indonesia to climb volcanoes.

    Will have to save hard for the Scandinavian extravaganza I have in mind - cruise of the Norwegian fjords, Sweden, Finland, Denmark and then Iceland and Greenland. And maybe a quick trip to St Petersburg to see how it has changed. Probably too much for one trip! And too expensive.

    Last day - slow start after I took a while packing.

    Then just drove around abit and went to the Grove.
    Such a lovely shopping centre with the music and the fountains. Had a look at Nordstrom so I could tick off the three main department stores.

    Then I saw it! My second favourite (Target is my first) store in the US - The Container Store. I love looking at all their stuff.

    Then two chocolate milkshakes from Haagen Dazs - looking at shops and not buying anything is hard work!

    Also stopped off at CVS my favorite pharmacy which has all sorts of things.

    Weather in LA has been overcast and raining so I gave San Monica a miss. Normally I like to spend flight day there.

    Time just went and so my plan of going to REI and looking at hiking shoes didn't eventuate. Nor a trip to County Museum which I mean to go to every time I am in LA.

    Next time.

    Traffic to LAX was heavy and then the car rental shuttle took a while. All good though.

    At check in had to move 3 kilos from one suitcase to the other and put a few clothes in my carry on. But I was prepared as I had a shopping bag which I put my backpack into and there was lots of spare room.

    Was TSA pre approved which was great and saved time. Was preapproved on my flight to Cancun from LA as well. It means you don't have to take off your shoes or show your liquids. And your electronics can stay in your bags.

    LAX is also getting a renovation - thank goodness. It has always been a horrible airport with shocking food. Now there are some decent cafes and bars and I had a pretty good grilled chicken burger. I wanted steak but wasn't going to pay $60!

    Then a miracle happened! I have the row to myself! That never happens anymore - not like in the good old days!

    Therefore expecting a blissful flight!

    No view of LA on take off as you can see!

    Then landing in Sydney - home!
    Read more