Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Train to Moscow

    October 28, 2018 in Russia ⋅ ⛅ 3 °C

    Took the fast train to Moscow. Went first class which was like travelling business class - huge seat, choice of meals, slippers, eyemask, wine. Four hour trip which was nice and relaxing.
    Driver from hotel was a no show to pick us up which was annoying.

    That left me to try and see if I could find the number of the hotel and then someone's mobile to ring them and I don't speak russian. My phone doesn't work overseas for some reason unbeknownst to me.

    Anyway the station information desk was hopeless and rude. Next was a bar where I targeted young people as they are more likely to speak some English. Anyway with a little help from google translate I got my message across.

    So the driver turns up and by this stage I am tired and even more annoyed. He then starts raving on in russian madly waving his arms. Then we have an erratic drive to the hotel with him talking on his mobile the whole way!

    Then he demands extra money for the parking when he came back for us. This is where I lost it as we had already paid about 20 times more than a taxi would cost. Plus he was not on the platform holding up his sign for us as he was supposed to be. Also not sure why he left in the first place without us.

    The hotel night clerk trys to mediate but this driver is crazy and does not stop talking (loudly)! So after wasting two hours because of this idiot driver I lose it even more and the hotel clerk orders him out of the hotel.

    Hotel sends up complimentary green tea and biscuits and we order room service given that we were too traumatised to go out!

    So we have arrived in Moscow.
    Read more