Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Aspen

    December 23, 2018 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ -9 °C

    So excited to be spending Christmas in Aspen!
    A white christmas is the best!
    Good flight with Qantas and the food was pretty good. I think I had the best dinner I have ever had on a plane plus the snacks kept on coming.

    As per usual I was up all night packing - I seriously have to stop that!

    We had an express pass at LA airport plus wheelchair assistance meaning we go to the front of the queue and we only just made our flight to Aspen in the two hours we had. And that was only because I made an executive decision to abandon the wheelchair and have mum and I make a dash for the gate. They had taken us to the wrong terminal then there were stairs and basically there was no way we would have made it getting a shuttle to another terminal. Then they started saying can we go on another flight! And I am like no we have to catch this flight! Zero service and care factor.

    What a rush. But first I had to deal with airport staff telling me we couldn't leave them and the wheelchair. So that was easy when I said we are going! As we dashed off I heard them saying we will never make it!

    Thanks for nothing LAX. No wonder everybody hates going to that airport!

    Anyway we make it onto a bus which takes us to this weird 'gate' which is a shack in the middle of the tarmac.

    Anyway we make it to Aspen!

    No way we and our masses of luggage are going to make it on the free Aspen shuttle so taxi it is. I dash out and secure one telling him I have a mother in a wheelchair plus luggage. So I run back and get the luggage and run out and the driver is about to put someone else's luggage in the taxi! I stand there thinking he must be taking two fares but I get no acknowledgment so I ask.

    Well he says he is taking these other people. I am so flabbergasted. I say to him I just reserved the taxi and was getting the luggage and my wheelchair mother and he says well thats just what we do here.

    Is he kidding! Who does that to someone in a wheelchair I say to him. Anyway as I continue to be flabbergasted the Australian family who were going to take the cab tell me I can have it which was very decent of them.

    Anyway no tip for Mr Mean Taxi Driver.

    Our airbnb is lovely. Wood burning fireplace, very cosy bedrooms and beds, a killer massaging shower and a mid century decor. Love.
    Oh plus a lovely snow covered tree view with abit of a view of the gondola.

    Mum sets herself up on the couch to rest in front of the fire which an australian neighbour lit for us while I go out to explore.

    Aspen is so lovely. A very pretty town. Originally a silver mining town.

    The shops are crazy expensive so strictly browsing only. The people watching is fantastic. Its so nice just wandering. But the lack of sleep starts to hit late afternoon so I do a grocery shop and head home.

    Early night as we are exhausted
    Read more