Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Off to Puerto Rico

    January 5, 2019 in Puerto Rico ⋅ ⛅ 25 °C

    Up most of the night packing so finished at 2am and had to get up at 4am for our 8am flight. The US airports can take alot of time to check in and get through TSA so I like to allow enough time. Also with car rental dropoff you often have to get shuttles.

    Bought the plastic bags that need a vacuum to seal them so that squashed all our winter clothes and our puffas. Normally I bring the ones that you hand roll but I knew I would need the big guns for this trip!

    Getting to the aiport was stressful as our sat nav doesn't give clear directions and fails to direct you to entries. Added to that the main road to the aiport was closed for construction and our sat nav couldn't redirect. Luckily I had looked at the route and vaguely knew what direction to head so did that until the sat nav came good again.

    It was pure luck that I found the entry to the carpark return when I turned around when a car beeped at me! Thank you beeping car! And thank goodness I had allowed enough time.

    Miami airport is huge as you would expect with a shuttle train to some of the gates. For some reason we are flying business class which is nice. Only a short 2 1/2 hour flight to San Juan.

    Our luggage is crazy but I have worked out how to carry/wheel 2 large suitcases, 1 large duffel bag, 1 small duffel, a heavy handbag, a carry on bags and a backpack! This was worked out quickly when I discovered there were no carts at San Juan airport and expensive porters for a distance of a few minutes was the deal!

    So taxi to the ship then standing in line in the sun to drop the bags off then thankfully we could get a wheelchair for mum then straight to our cabin.

    We are so tired we collapse on our beds only to wake when its time for the mandatory drill.

    Then back to bed! We are so tired. We don't even open our bags or have dinner. We barely look at San Juan port - photos are from when we returned to start the next cruise. They don't encourage me to get off the ship and explore.
    Read more