Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Shopping in the dark

    December 22, 2019 in Russia ⋅ ☁️ 0 °C

    Bit of a late start as I had to change rooms and my room was so nice and cosy it was hard to leave. My next room will be a downgrade as its part of the tour.
    The breakfast is fantastic and the dining area very nice to sit in.

    Hotel mostly full of russians and boy is it rough and tumble at the breakfast buffet.

    You grab your table by leaving something there and you madly rush back and forward stocking up. Lots of pushing and shoving. And my table was taken by two 80 year old russians who pretended they didn't know what they had done! They just chucked my bag aside! Ruthless!

    Next I took the metro to Izmailovo markets which has a flea market and a souvenir/tourist market.

    The flea market was fascinating but you would really need to dig around. But you could find some real treasures. There wasn't as much soviet stuff as I was hoping. But there were beautiful retro glass christmas ornaments. Would have loved to bring back a treefull of them.

    I stayed until about six by which time I was using my phone flashlight to see. Bought a few beanies and scarfs and generally had a great time.

    Then to Arbat Street which has loads of shops. Bought some high fashion sturdy russian snow boots.

    So quite a late night and very happy to crawl into bed in my new downgraded room!
    Read more