Satellite
Mostra sulla mappa
  • Giorno 3

    Kamakura Travels

    13 dicembre 2023, Giappone ⋅ ☀️ 15 °C

    Kamakura was the destination for today. I headed back onto Yokohama then took another train to Kamakura. Once here I went to the tourist office and was given a map and some guidance. It was about 9:30am, so I walked up the shopping street while most were still shut and headed for Tsurugaoka Hachimangū at the top of the main street.

    This place was lovely, but the highlight was the colours of the leaves and garden, stream areas. After this I caught a bus to Hokokuji temple, a short walk from the bus stop took me up the hill to this place. The light was perfect and making the garden look beautiful. After the front area, I paid the y400 to see the bamboos forest at the rear, the garden was small but lovely.

    From here it was noon, I caught a bus back to the shopping street and walked through the food stalls and shops. I bought 4x chopstick sets for y100 (then found a shop selling them for y50 later - so I got 2 more) I ate one awesome curry croquettes and one ok pork one. I also had a luke warm Taiyaki. Lunch done, I waited nack at the station for a bus to the Budda temple Kotoku-in. A 12m heigh bronze Budda statue cast in 1252. It was not much else to see. Entry was y300.

    From here I walked to Hase station and rode the old electric railway to Kamakurakoko-mae station. This is a famous spot for photographers to take the train at crossing by ocean pics. It was busy and had a crossing guard keeping everyone in line. Took lots of photos and waited. Then looked at the beach view, and walked back towards Enoshima.

    On this walk I encountered the train going through the streets. And also found myself at Manpukuji temple. So I walked up the steps and saw the 5 story pagoda. It was 3:30pm by now, so I caught the Shonan monorail back to Ofuna, then back to Yokohama by train. I wandered some shops in Yokohama, but then needed food, so a Teriyaki burger set at Wendy's it was (y560).

    After than one stop train ride back for a relaxing bath and rest.
    Leggi altro