Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Home of Ines & Muy-ling

    April 7, 2018 in Chile ⋅ ⛅ 12 °C

    My hosts are Ines the grandma and Muy-lung the granddaughter. Muy-ling told me this is her Chinese name and her mum is currently working in China.

    The first thing I did this morning was to take a good look at their home. It’s a bit rundown yet charming in its own way. Great views all around the apartment and very thin windows that let all bustling downtown noises in. Best of it all are the gorgeous plants and furniture :)

    Ines and Muy-ling are both very friendly. Ines only speaks Spanish. I had fun speaking very broken Spanish with her using my lonely planet Spanish phrase book.

    I also got to meet Paulina, a friend and classmate of May-ling’s. She told me that she loved practicing English and she’d even speak to herself in English, so she’s been happily translating for me. It reminded me of my own school days trying to learn a foreign language and that exciting, nervous and fun feeling when I tried to communicate with a native speaker :)
    Read more