Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Loving the mess!

    April 10, 2018 in Chile ⋅ ☁️ 17 °C

    I was warmly welcomed by my host Carolina and Juan, a young Chilean couple.

    Carolina passionately showed me places that she recommends on a map for over half an hour. Then we had some good chats and laughs.

    They just came back from a year of working holiday in NZ. They said NZ was good for 💵 but here in Valparaiso they have a life... Nice to hear people prioritise life and love being where they are right now :)

    Then I went for another empanada in a place that Carolina recommended to me. There I met another Carolina. She tried so hard to talk to me in English, also reminded me of safety concerns in the area and introduced me to some Chilean herbs. With her limited English and my hopeless Spanish plus some creative doodling, we were able to chat about so much from food to languages to places to careers to... she also took me for a little walk in a flea market nearby and a funicular before we parted.

    Thank you so much for your kindness Carolina’s 🙏
    Read more