Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Day 7: London, England

    July 13, 2016 in England ⋅ ⛅ 18 °C

    We started our day taking the tube to the museum of London and looking through the history of the city. It was a really nice museum save the groups of middle schoolers we had to dodge through. We walked down through the streets to see the busy business section and passed by the Royal Stock Market. I got distracted with a perfume shop -Penhaligions- which you can't find in the states. As usual, the shopkeeper asked where I was from. I say the states, but they want to know the state, which I think I've said a different state every time cause I don't really have a home now. We then walked passed old Bond Street and then to the Victorian covered market Leadenhall where we had lunch and watched all the busy businessmen pass us by. I realized more people were looking at me than usual and caught on that I was using my hands to eat my pizza and they use their forks and knives to cut it up and eat with a fork. They don't pre-cut your pizza for you but they did give us a pizza cutter because they knew we were Americans. As hard as you might try, it's so difficult not to automatically be spotted as an American and that's not a bad thing, just a reminder that our cultures are still very different. They looked on at me with curiosity and I proudly stuffed my face with the extreme efficiency of a folded slice of pizza. We jumped back on the tube at Liverpool to the flat to change into warmer clothing before going back out to tube to the south bank to grab a coffee, see the Tate Modern building before jumping on the circular river cruise on the Thames from Bankside Pier. It was a 50 minute tour on the top of a cruise boat that took us to Westminster and then over to the Tower of London and Tower Bridge. It's a great way to see all the main sites from the comfort of a boat. We got off the boat and walked across Millenium foot bridge to St. Paul's cathedral for their evensong service at 5 which unbeknownest to us at the time was a special service done once a year with the patron of the church Duchess of Gloucester in attendance. We stayed for it's whole service which is Anglican with their all-boys choir. It was quite lovely hearing them sing and even more interesting hearing their sermon and seeing their rituals. After that we went back to our flat for dinner, laundry and to watch the BBC news with Theresa May becoming the new Prime Minister today with David Cameron resigning after the UK voted to leave the EU.Read more