Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 146

    Back to city life

    December 7, 2016 in Nepal ⋅ ☀️ 19 °C

    We took an early flight out of Lukla, an airport with one of the shortest runways in the world. The plane was tiny, with about 15 seats. The flight was short and had gorgeous views of the Himalayans. And 30 minutes later, I was back in the big city. Kathmandu has a lot of worth seeing areas and I spent a day and a half exploring more of the city.

    Unfortunately, my phone stopped working in the mountains and so I tried to get it fixed. Meaning: a guy in Kathmandu took my cell phone apart and cleaned it up with a sewing needle, razor blade, old tooth brush and rubbing alcohol. :) It worked for a few hours, enough to get my pictures off it, just to disappear into a black screen again indefinitely.

    Some of my highlights in Kathmandu were a live rock concert, shopping at a local market and a restaurant with authentic Nepalese dances, two of which I was taught how to dance by the dancers from picture 6 :)

    After a great time and so many beautiful new memories in Nepal, I'm off to Sri Lanka. Definitely looking forward to be in warm weather again and will be doing some trekking there as well!
    Read more