Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 45

    Day 22: reindeeeeeer

    June 28, 2016 in Norway ⋅ ☀️ 5 °C

    Today was reindeer day and it started the minute I woke up. For when I peeked out the tent to see what the weather was like around 7am, there were over 50 or 60 reindeer less than 20 meters away

    The herd and I were going the same direction for the first hours of my hike, so I had some (very shy and always 100 meters or more away) company :) The second half of my hike I saw a few more, but in much smaller groups.

    I got to the trailhead for Glitterbraen glacier around 2 pm, and with not enough time (and potentially energy ;) ) left to make the 7 to 8 hour crossing, I set up camp at a nearby lake and will start the ascent tomorrow morning. This gives me a few hours extra rest and let's me gather some energy to climb Norway's second highest summit tomorrow. I'm camping at 1500m, and the glacier tomorrow will be at 2465m (just 4m less than Norway's highest peak, which I will climb the following day). So I'm hanging out at the beautiful glacier lake in full sunshine, reading, eating and just enjoying the rest of the day.
    Read more