Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 52

    Day 29: from sea level back to 1300m :)

    July 5, 2016 in Norway ⋅ ⛅ 7 °C

    Today I made my way from Ardalstangen to Gudvangen across the Sognefjord with 2 ferries and a little bit of hitch hiking. The 3 hour ferry ride was absolutely beautiful and lead through UNESCO world heritage for its narrow fjord with steep cliffs on both sides.

    After a giant hot dog and a chocolate croissant at a small supermarket, I found myself back on the trails, happy to be moving again, and surrounded by nothing but trees, mountains and here and there a sheep, surprised about my unannounced visit :)

    It was so nice and warm all day, I was looking forward to get to three little lakes up in the mountains to set up camp at the shore and jump in to cool off. How could I forget I'm in Norway and at the end of June a 1300m high lake is still covered in ice floating around!? So no ice swimming for me today ;) But I got to cool a beer I carried up here in the ice and am enjoying it right now in the late sunshine
    Read more