Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Midnight stars

    December 14, 2017 in Portugal ⋅ ☁️ 14 °C

    Remember the two guys from the first night, at the restaurant? I went there again and chatted about 2hrs with them. One of the guys became to like me and asked me if I would like to meet him. Naive as I was, I said yes, and so he picked me up the next night. We drove into the hinterland of Albufeira and my mind was churning. Was it really a good idea to leave my safe hotel room for a stranger? In a country I don't know? In the night? However, here I was, and I was determined to only think the best of him. As he stopped the car, we were in the middle of nowhere, and he asked me to climb with him through bushes and rocks. I did so and my innocent heart didn't get disappointed. I found myself at a small beach, surrounded by three walls of coastal rocks and the midnight blue sky and sea in front and above me. It was amazing. He offered me a seat on his towel and we had a nice time up until he wanted me from me than just words. I tried to let him down gently, afraid that he'd leave me in the middle of nowhere. But he was quite the Gentleman, accepted my No and drove me safely back to my hotel. I'll never forget how much fear I felt in these moments and how good it was, to only think good of people.Read more