Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Arriving on the African Continent

    September 28, 2018 in Tunisia ⋅ ☁️ 25 °C

    We all gathered in Düsseldorf, where our plane would depart on to a 2h long flight towards Monastir. Our tour operator or rather partner who invited us to this trip was Alltours, with whom I already flew to Mallorca for a day. We were about 20 people from all different kinds of travel agencies around Germany and I befriended two of the younger girls, as one of them would be my roommate for the days ahead. We went through the check-in, security, and boarding and flew towards Tunisia.
    Monastir is a quite small airport where you walk through within 10 min. We got picked up by our local driver and drove to our first hotel that we would stay in - Steigenberger Kantaoui Bay (nowadays Iberostar Selection Kantaoui Bay). We were greeted with tiny wet towels to cool off, and for the first time I actually realized that it was quite warm in Tunisia. It just needed a very cold piece of cloth for me to realize it... And a chilly sugary-pink welcome drink. After downing that, the hotel staff showed us to our rooms for the next two days. As I said, I had a roommate, Jenny, but there was definitely no need to worry. Our “room” was a huge suite with a living room in between two bed- and bathrooms. The cherry on top was the big balcony we both had access to, overlooking the fine garden of the hotel up until the ocean. I was convinced, we'd be able to feel comfortable here.
    After leaving our luggage in our suite, our group met yet again, to get a tour of the hotel. The wellness section looked amazingly good, and I was super happy, when they told us, we'd have “Thalasso” time tomorrow. The beach was pretty empty, although it was rather warm. Maybe the tourists were already eating at the buffet, where we ended our tour and settled for dinner. The food was plenty and tasty af, no wonder therefore, that I laid down that night completely stuffed.
    Read more