Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Old Romans and the African Santorini

    September 30, 2018 in Tunisia ⋅ ☁️ 24 °C

    This morning, we filled our tummies with breakfast one last time in the Selection Kantaoui Bay and checked out. Today, we would travel to Hammamet, where our next hotel would be. On our schedule today was culture, though, no real hotel sightings. Our bus drove us for about 2hrs to Carthago, an old Roman city that has only left ruins. On the way there, we made a quick stop at the Port Punique de Carthage. Then we were immersed in history and old ruins. For me, it's quite difficult to imagine what has once been a huge city. The only thing I see are stones... well, I still learned some things. But my highlight came after Carthago. About another ten-minute drive, we arrived in a little village called Sidi Bou Said. That village has such a cool vibe. It's so artsy, at every corner you can get handmade art crafts. And the blue and white scheme was following the whole way through the town. It's just so beautiful. My brain immediately compared it with Santorini in Greece (although I've never been there, the pictures I've seen suggested something similar to Sidi Bou Said). When I've walked through the whole little place, I've arrived at the edge of Tunisia. There, a huge, old tree was guarding the village and a local told me that it was the tree of dreams. Make a wish under that tree and it would eventually come true. As it was a beautiful sunny day, we could look very far, and I thought, I could see Sicily, but my bubble burst when I looked at the map - it could only be another edge of Tunisia. But anyway, I could look far. After we had a lovely lunch in one of the many restaurants, we made our way to the next hotel we'd be staying in. It's called lti Les Orangers Garden Villas & Bungalows and was completely new. We made our mandatory tour around the hotel and settled down in yet another huge suite with two bedrooms with their own balconies, two bathrooms and a living room in the middle. They just have too much space there...Read more