Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Journey of Healing

    October 3, 2018 in Germany ⋅ ☁️ 11 °C

    The next day, completely overtired, my knee wasn't looking any better. As it was a holiday in Germany, I couldn't go to a normal doctor. I was thinking that I could just stay put and go to the doctor tomorrow. But after some more painful hours, I decided I had to go immediately. So my dad drove me to the hospital and I waited for about 4 hours until a doctor came to see me. We made an x-ray, he scanned my knee, asked me loads of questions and I answered all of them. After another 2 hours, he stated, that I had a microfracture - meaning my knee was shattered into thousands of little bone pieces. They gave me a bandage, told me I should be careful but still use the left leg as much as possible, and prescribed me physical therapy. Luckily, it counted as a business accident, so I didn't need to pay it myself.

    In the end, I wasn't able to sleep properly for months, as I couldn't put my left knee on the other, so I had to sleep on my back. I had physical therapy for about a year, 2 hours per week. I wore the bandage about two days, but I couldn't walk with it at all, so I threw it out and limped around without it. As I needed to drive to work, I was crying whenever changing the gears for about 4 months. I couldn't do Zumba nor Pilates for about 8 months. As I couldn't walk properly for several months, my right knee had to take a lot of the weight from the left, so I basically fucked both of my knees in the end. I still can't do all the positions in Yoga or Pilates and whenever I put too much pressure on either of my knees, they hurt. I can't twist my knee during dancing, as it hurts immediately.

    This accident showed me, how much we want from our body, day in, day out. And I'm very happy that I can still do most of the things with it.
    Read more