Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Leaving with a Bang!

    October 2, 2018 in Tunisia ⋅ 🌧 17 °C

    The next morning we were about to fly home in the morning. So, I woke up early and made my way to the breakfast room. It was raining the first time since we landed in Tunisia. It was light rain, and I wasn't bothered much. That is, until I happily jumped on top of the first step of the marble staircase, wet from the rain. Well... As you can imagine, rain makes marble pretty slippery. And so, my right foot slipped down the stairs and my left knee stopped my journey down. The shock left me with an immense portion of pain, and tears started falling in streams. It took about 5 mins until a hotel boy found me crying my heart out. I couldn't move. My right leg was open and bloody, my left knee hurt as fuck. My coccyx was my least concern. After another 10 mins I was finally able to stand up - only with a lot of help though - and limp to the breakfast room. News are travelling fast in a hotel, so the other group members have already heard of my accident and offered to bring me food to my table. I didn't want their help that much, so I dragged myself to the buffet, still crying. In hindsight, I should have just accepted their help and stay fucking put. As our flight would depart in abut three hours, and we had to drive to the airport, there was no time for me to get to a doctor in Tunisia. So, one of the friendly hotel boys collected the luggage from my room and brought me to the bus. I was silently crying the whole hour driving to the airport, holding my knee. At the airport, Jennifer wanted to take my luggage, but actually, it helped me to walk as I could put a lot of my weight on that instead of on my knee. So, I stood at the Check-in and at the queue for Security as everyone else. My knee burning and growing thicker every second. I never felt more helpless to that day. The flight was quite short, but as I had to take trains from Düsseldorf to Göttingen, there was a very long journey for me ahead. I had to get through three train rides, two changes of the tracks. Each time, going stairs up and down. Once, a man seemed to have noticed my silent tears and helped me to carry my huge luggage up the stairs. At that moment, I found my belief in the good human nature - and lost it with every other person, leaving me alone in my despair. When I finally arrived in Göttingen, my dad picked me up. He didn't know about my accident yet, so he was rather surprised when I fell into his arms, sobbing my lungs out. That was the most horrible journey I've ever had to get through - until that day - and I was just so happy, to finally be able to rest. Arriving at home, I pulled my trousers off and my mom gasped. My knee was about three times the usual size and just looked awfully red and swollen. My right leg wasn't as bad, it could be helped with a bit of Bepanthen. We put ice on my knee and hoped for the best. That night, I couldn't sleep at all because of the hurting.Read more