Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 20

    Covid - Planning

    June 2, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ☁️ 17 °C

    Today I woke up at 6am to read Autopias response that they could obviously not take me with them. I took another RAT, again positive right away. I called the Healthdirect to ask them how and where I could get a PCR test for my insurance. After calling a bunch of different GPs and Medical Centres, I finally found one where I could get a needed referral from. I had to pay the Northbridge Medical Centre $90 for a two minutes telecall appointment, but I've got my referral. They also told me, where the closest location would be to get my PCR test done. I called them, asking whether I could come without an appointment. Then I asked James to ask whether the room was available for staying another night. Then I hurried to the Clinical Labs collection centre, paid another $150 to get tested and went straight back to my hotel room. Now, the only real thing I could do, was to wait. And pray, that the test would really turn out to be positive, so that the HanseMerkur would pay for everything... Otherwise, I would be in debt very shortly. I tried to busy myself with texting the two tour operators with whom I booked some day trips. One could be refunded 100%, the other one would be 100% cancellation fee. Hoping, praying. I asked Christian back in Germany to look for flights and how much it would cost to rebook to a sooner date. Why stay here, being ill?
    I really didn't feel good at all. I had fever come in waves, my heart raced again and again, my nose was blocked, I had a huge headache and I felt rather weak in general. I wanted to get home, as soon as possible. I didn't mind the 24 hour flight, I just wanted to recover properly between my loved ones.
    I got a phone call from reception that I should come and pay the hotel bill, which I did. $195 including corporate benefit... That was really expensive. Shit. Praying again.
    As I needed to stay at least one more night anyway, I booked myself an airport hotel for the next night. With that, I'd be as close as possible, so to get the earliest flight to get me out of here as soon as I could.
    I went to the supermarket to get myself some food and was completely done afterwards. It really was tough having Covid.
    For tonight, I enjoyed the bathtub yet again. I'd really miss that. But nothing could best the approaching feeling to finally be home again.
    Read more