Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Starting like a Business Woman

    September 21, 2023 in Germany ⋅ ☁️ 23 °C

    The day started stressfully, as I had to unpack my clothes from Slovenia and repack for South Africa. Luckily, I've already chosen my clothes for the safari approaching but it still was stressful. I was super excited as usual before such a trip and near hyperventilating. A short visit in the shop where I could talk to my colleagues and eat some amazing Spaghetti cake of Celina again, was grounding. Then, it was time to say Goodbye. Seb was picking me up, I packed the last bits and off we went to the train station. My train to Frankfurt airport arrived nearly on time and the journey started without delays.
    Arriving at Frankfurt airport, the question was: "Where do I have to go?" Searching for signs and asking around, until I found the drop-off point for my luggage. The security check was fast and without any problems and after the Duty Free shops, I arrived at one special sign that I've never even recognised before: Business Lounge. I showed my boarding pass and voucher and entered into a calm, but busy area that was clean and inviting. After I found my colleagues from STA Travel and Explorer Fernreisen, I went to the buffet that had everything one could wish for - From salad, over hot meals to candy in glasses. I was so happy I didn't eat anything but an apple on the train. My colleagues and I chatted casually and talked about Malaria prophylaxis until a man from the next table approached us and explained that the prophylaxis wouldn't be needed in Kruger National Park. The Tropical Institution was just trying to make money basically, but the locals in South Africa (and Tansania as well for that part) actually was Malaria free. He and his wife owned a Lodge at Kruger NP and were there often, so his advice was legit. One of my colleagues was already checking them out from the business perspective - maybe we could make a contract with them?
    After a little bit more food and time has passed by, the time for boarding has come. So, we went to our Gate and boarded. The very best thing: We would fly Premium Economy - my first time. The chairs definitely looked much more comfortable and we got a nice little kit with some socks, toothbrush and - paste as well as earplugs and eyeshades. A cover and pillow rounded up the comfort. I immediately felt less stressed as I could imagine to finally feel alright during a flight. Then the announcement came: "The Boarding Entertainment isn't working". Just like at Lanas flight to Hongkong, when she flew to the Australian FAM-Trip. However, I thought it was much Esther funny than annoying or horrible. The take-off was better than I'm used to, as usually my ears explode when taking off/landing. Dinner arrived with a menu, and I chose the vegan tahjin with couscous. It was delicious! I've never said that about a flight meal before (and maybe never again). The next thing was new for me as well: I fell asleep... On a plane... And when I woke up, I felt recharged. That flight was something completely new - in so many good ways. Amazing! I didn't end there - the breakfast was tasty as well. So cool!
    Read more