Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Driving through the African Landscapes

    September 23, 2023 in South Africa ⋅ 🌙 30 °C

    The day started early so that we could fill our tummies and hop into the truck for a day on the road. Gary asked who would like to sit at the front and I volunteered immediately. So, I took my bag and jumped next to Takalani into the drivers cabin. Off we went and into the different landscapes of SA. From dry to green to wet we saw everything. We stopped from time to time and I always searched for a hair brush. I've forgotten mine in Germany and have helped myself with my adapter for the day. The first time that I was glad I had thin hair. After we took lunch break at some place that could literally been at the German Bodensee, we stopped at a rest stop and I finally found a hair brush. It was a children's one, however, the store didn't have any other and it was the last shop we'd see for days, so I decided to buy it.
    Back on truck (pun intended) we left the last kilometres behind on our way to the Bush Lodge of Drifters. It's in their own Private Reserve and only Drifters guests stay in the Lodge there. So you can't find it on Google or Maps really, because you won't get an address. The Reserve has no fence to the Kruger National Park so that it contains the Big 5 as much as the famous Kruger.
    When we entered the Reserve, we were welcomed by Impalas who are very common in SA. And then, literally 5min away from the Lodge, after a whole day of driving (from 7am to 4pm) Alex spotted a Leopard. Not even Takalani or Gary had spotted it, but she did. We stopped and watched him for several minutes until Takalani broke the silence: "Congratulation. That is very, very rare that you see the leopard as he usually strolls and wanders around. Amazing eyes." And indeed, it was an amazing view.
    After that, we arrived gratefully at the Bush Lodge and got a quick briefing how to behave around here. As we are in a Big 5 Reserve, we have to be careful every second. We should take (head) torches with us and only walk with closed shoes at night because of scorpions or snakes. We shouldn't leave camp and we shouldn't leave our doors or lights on in the canvas. Lucky as I am, I again got a canvas for myself. I wasn't alone though, as a cute little gecko was right next to my bed, watching over me. I didn't have to be afraid then.
    When we waited for dinner to be ready, we could watch an African Civet right underneath our Bush Lodge. It looked like a mixture of racoon (in its face), a leopard/cheetah (with his fur) and a dog (in its stature). I liked it instantly.
    Read more