Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Tearful Farewell and Goodbye SA

    September 28, 2023 in South Africa ⋅ ☀️ 19 °C

    For the last time, we jumped into the truck, to make our way to our flight back to Germany. 5hrs of just talking to my colleagues (now friends) and enjoying every bump of the road. Enjoying the changing landscapes of South Africa. Preparing our gifts and thank-yous for Takalani and Gary.
    Takalani has been the most patient, charismatic, funny and knowledgable guide I've ever met. Even when his eyes lids nearly fell down because of a very tiring, long day, he managed to answer my annoying questions with a warm sense of humour. He could fully immerse you into a story and make building-up a tent sound like your life goal.
    And Gary has been the best Marketing Guy I've ever met. He wasn't only able to provide us with enough "Bushy Bushy" stops, but also make a business trip feel like a holiday. I mean, he said it himself. And I never really felt as if this was an actual FAM-Trip. This was one of the best trips of my life so far. And I'll be forever grateful to get this opportunity to fall in love with the brand Drifters.
    As the truck stopped, I knew it was time. Takalani and Gary entered the truck and gave each a little speech. I couldn't hold it any more, and I was glad when I saw the others cry as well. We were so moved from the words and the whole experience, really. We gave them our gifts and thank-yous, which led them to get glassy eyes, too. Gosh, I'd miss the bush. I'd miss South Africa and Drifters. But watch out, I'll come back.
    Promise.
    Read more