Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Slipping back to the Longest Drive

    November 8, 2023 in Madagascar ⋅ ☁️ 24 °C

    Today I woke up to drums and the Indri cries, feeling like a new person. I've slept pretty well, but I guess that's just because my body got its much needed rest. A lot of the others hadn't had a good night though. One of them being Seb. He looked very bad when I got to the men's dorm, being all pale and grumpy. "I didn't sleep a second", he stated with eyes that could kill. That would be a lovely day then...
    We had some breakfast (although I couldn't eat a lot at 6 o'clock), grabbed our backpacks and said Goodbye to our homestay. Then the tricky part began, as the dirt roads were muddy slides after hours of rain last night. With my trainers on, obviously, I had the best grip, but Seb gave me a hand whenever I needed it, so I didn't slip. We went onto the rims of rice fields again to avoid the very muddy parts and hopefully make it out with as less dirt on us as possible.
    We finally made it to the "main road" which was covered in uneven stones mixed with red sand. It was far easier to walk there. Reaching the bus and driving back to the hotel to pick up Roger (he had stayed at the hotel last night, as he was feeling ill), Seb was getting worse. He had very serious stomach cramps and his green face spoke miles. However, we needed to get on the bus again, no time to rest. Today we'd have to cover the biggest distance in the longest period of time: 10hrs.
    That drove wouldn't have been pleasant anyway, however with Seb cramping up I was sure it would become hell.
    We sat in our usual spot in the back of the bus and gave it a try. After an hour or so, Seb looked even worse and I figured it might be better to give him a plastic bag for puking. When we stopped for a quick bush toilet, I asked the others to sit somewhere else, so that Seb could lay down at the last row, as he couldn't sit straight anymore without having cramps. Luckily, all the others were very understanding and changed their seating order for him. We also got some medicine from Mike, as ours was in the luggage on top of the bus... Who could have thought that it was a bad idea to let Europeans live 2 days in a row out of a backpack, with no running water and food they may not cope well with... Another minus point for the poor planning of G.
    However, Seb took some pills and laid down on my lap as his pillow. It felt like seconds until he dozed off to his much needed sleep.
    For lunch, he already felt a bit better, but he stayed cautious and didn't eat much. Instead, he more or less enjoyed our very loud live entertainment during lunch.
    Back on track, it took another 6 hours and several Stopps until we arrived in Ranomafana. That has been better than expected and still was kinda shitty. But the sleep and meds have helped, so that Seb was feeling way better than before. Nevertheless, we didn't go to the Thermals (optional activity) tonight, but had some poor fried chips for dinner and just went to bed afterwards.
    Read more