Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    San Juan de Ortega to Burgos

    April 15 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 52 °F

    195 miles done. 305 to go. 39% of the way done!

    From random conversations on the Camino with people from every corner of the earth, I can say that the world waits with bated breath what is happening and how the dramas will play out in the United States… Donald Trump, the world economy that rests on the shoulders of the US economy, the Israel/Palestine/Iran war, mass shootings and gun violence, and more. It’s an odd thing to feel both pride and shame for your country. I’ll be thinking on that a lot more I’m sure as I continue to meet pilgrims and be even more distanced via time from home.

    Today’s journey had every type of road surface. Giant rocks to traverse, gravel, grass, dirt, pavement… it was a long day of walking, 7 hours. But, I made it to my hotel just in time to learn they too also take siesta and didn’t open for a few more hours.

    FaceTimed with my parents and they were happy to see me alive and well. Drank wine in the park at a cafe. And caught up on news from around the world before checking into my hotel. Then it was time to get things done…laundry and shopping.

    My Altra Lone Peak 7 shoes simply couldn’t handle the demands of the Camino. I bought them in December and trained lightly with them, but the treads are now worn completely down on the heels, the padding inside the heels has been rubbed away, and the insoles became paper thin and hurt. Even buying new insoles didn’t save the day. Goodbye old friends. You served me well, but I’ll be contacting customer service with photos because you should have been able to last the journey with me at the very least.

    So, out with the old and in with the new. I found a great store with very knowledgable (and thankfully English speaking) staff who helped me find my new companions for the remainder of this wild journey: Merrell Agility Peak 5s. Pricey, but my feet are worth every penny if I’m to finish the Camino in the next few weeks.

    Best wine tonight of the entire Camino and supposedly only bottled for this restaurant. I’m challenging our good friend and wine connoisseur, Tom Wehr, to find this wine and import it by the case for me. Medium rare steak with a whipped roquefort butter is a heavenly combination worth trying to replicate at home. And finished with a cheese custard made with three cheeses from Spain, France, and Italy on a caramel drizzle base with brown butter crumble. Spoiled myself tonight. #worthit

    Rest day tomorrow in Burgos. Sightseeing at the cathedral, the castle, and museums.

    Night friends!
    Read more