Uydu
Haritada göster
  • Gün 28

    Foncebadón to Ponferrada

    29 Nisan, Ispanya ⋅ ☀️ 36 °F

    371 miles done. 129 to go.

    Some steep and very rocky trails to descend today into Ponferrada. 5.5 hours of being careful to not sprain an ankle with a wrong step is kind of exhausting! Gorgeous views again today. I’m at 75% of the way!

    I went to a highly rated Italian restaurant and ate my heart out. But I couldn’t decide between the risotto or the pizza… so I ordered both.

    The risotto with Gorgonzola cheese, sliced almonds, candied pear, emmental cheese, and crispy bacon?… heaven in a skillet.

    The pizza was chicken and pepperoni and bbq sauce on a super thin crust. It was delicious.

    But I was embarrassed that I only ate half of each. Because I really ordered two entrees that could have fed 4 people. So I asked for a to-go box. They packaged everything up perfectly and halfway through my walk home, I admitted to myself that 1) I have no refrigeration in my dorm-room size alburgue, 2) I have to be up in 8 hours to walk again, and 3) I’ve already pre-paid for breakfast tomorrow morning at my accommodation. So, I donated it to a trash bin.

    I really didn’t want to admit that I was ok being wasteful by ordering twice what I actually needed just to have some variety, and then I doubled down on this wastefulness by getting a to-go bag with all the packaging, just to then throw it away. Ugh.

    But now overstuffed and overwalked, I’m going to sleep. Night!
    Okumaya devam et