Satellite
Show on map
  • This journey has begun

    May 1, 2023 in the United States

    As I arrived in San Diego it all started to hit me. What I was about to do. I told myself that I would not be scared and it's just like any other backpacking trip (just longer😆). But laying in my tent, writing this I am feeling scared. Anxious. A bit overwhelmed. I know I can overcome this feeling, I've felt it before. I just need to start. Take those first steps. I want to write down how I feel... even if it's not glamorous so I can see how I've grown when I come back to re read these.

    Anyways today went like this:

    Ian and Riley dropped me off at the airport. We had some tearful "see you soons". I miss them already.

    My college friend Steve picked me up from the airport. Took me to REI, Walmart and I got a proper California burrito to go. It was nice to see a familiar face as the nerves started to build. We arrived at Cleef right at sunset. I quickly set up my first tent pitch before it got dark. I nailed the first pitch with my trekking pole tent.

    I slept horrible, nauseous from my anxiety. On a positive note, my sleeping bag is very warm. Thank you feathered friends!

    In the morning they provide breakfast.
    I plan on walking slow and just spending my first day taking it all in and adjusting to my new reality!

    I can do this. Nothing worthwhile is easy.
    Read more