Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1 - Mexican boarder to hauser creek

    May 2, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 50 °F

    Miles hiked: 15.4
    Elevation: 1716 ft
    Campsite location: Hauser creek
    Weather: party cloud with a high of 70
    One word to describe the day: nervous

    I'm feeling better today. I was taken by surprise by the way I was feeling when I arrived at the terminus. I felt these same emotions when I got Riley. A bit of regret, worry and questioning my decision. However now I can't imagine life without Riley. I am feeling like the trail is very similar in the fact that it is a major life change and adjustment is needed. This trail is already teaching me lessons. Lessons in strength, resistance and grit.

    Today was a good day. I met a lot of new people on the trail. Diane and Rachel from Seattle and Caroline from Norway. It's nice to meet other female hikers.

    My appetite is not really great right now. So hopefully that works itself out as I continue on and get my routine figured out.

    Tonight's campsite is at mile 15.4. Hauser creek. It's a really nice spot but covered in poison oak!
    Read more